- Shockingly Delicious - http://www.shockinglydelicious.com -

Poor Man’s Burrito for #SundaySupper Tailgating

Posted By Dorothy Reinhold On September 9, 2012 @ 1:00 am In Appetizers,Cheap and Easy,Kid-Friendly,Party,Sandwiches,Vegetarian | 76 Comments

Recipe: Poor Man’s Burrito or Tailgate Teasers

Summary: A Hatch chile wrapped up with garlicky cream cheese in a flour tortilla becomes a Poor Man’s Burrito. Perfect for tailgating or any party!

Ingredients

Instructions

  1. Lay the tortilla flat. Spread lightly with cream cheese. (An offset spatula is a handy tool with which to do this.) Sprinkle lightly with garlic powder. Lay chile strips on top.
  2. Roll up tightly. Cut in half and place on plate. Enjoy!

Quick notes

The original verbal recipe called for garlic salt, but I found that too salty (the cream cheese has some salt in it), so garlic powder is my preferred sprinkle.

Variations: Tailgate Teasers

Tailgate Teasers on ShockinglyDelicious.com [2]To make Tailgate Teasers, cut the burrito crosswise in small pieces and turn them on their side to show the spiral effect.

Source

This was a verbal recipe shared by Robert Schueller from Melissa’s Produce [3], as we were discussing the many charms of Hatch chiles one day. Don’t you think recipes passed “over the back fence” are the best? I’m not sure why it’s called a Poor Man’s Burrito, but it’s a catchy name.

Preparation time: 3 minutes
Diet type: Vegetarian
Number of servings (yield): 1

Poor Man's Burrito or Tailgate Teasers [4]I’m bringing my Poor Man’s Burrito to the #SundaySupper virtual Tailgate party. The #SundaySupper team has lots of great suggestions for your tailgating munchies, below. Find something you like and bring it to the game!

The Lineup

Pre Game Warm-ups:

On the Sidelines:

Main Events:

Overtime:

From the Cooler:

Wine Pairings by Wine Everyday [55]

Don’t forget to join us on Twitter at 7 p.m. ET to talk all things tailgate.  Use tweetchat [56] to follow along with #SundaySupper. 

We’d also love to feature your tailgating recipes on our #SundaySupper Pinterest board [57] and share your menu with all of our followers!

And if you’d like to see all the recipes I have brought to #SundaySupper outings, here they are [58]!

Melissa’s Produce sent a sample of Hatch chiles for recipe testing.

 


Article printed from Shockingly Delicious: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com

URL to article: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/poor-mans-burrito-for-sundaysupper-tailgating/

URLs in this post:

[1] roasted, skinned, seeded and cut into strips : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/how-to-roast-hatch-chiles/

[2] Image: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/IMG_2337-001.jpg

[3] Melissa’s Produce: http://www.melissas.com

[4] Image: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/IMG_2329-002.jpg

[5] My Catholic Kitchen: http://www.mycatholickitchen.com/2012/09/sausage-balls-for-sunday-supper.html

[6] Girl in the Little Red Kitchen: http://girlinthelittleredkitchen.com/2012/09/edamame-hummus-sundaysupper/

[7] The Meltaways: http://www.themeltaways.com/2012/09/09/slow-cooker-reuben-dip-for-a-tailgating-sundaysupper/

[8] Hezzi-D’s Books and Cooks: http://hezzi-dsbooksandcooks.blogspot.com/2012/09/buffalo-wing-hummus-sundaysupper.html

[9] Family Spice: http://familyspice.com/smokey-guacamole-with-bacon/

[10] In the Kitchen with KP: http://www.inthekitchenwithkp.com/recipe/pepperoni-mozzarella-pull-apart-for-a-tasty-tailgate-sundaysupper

[11] Juanita’s Cocina: http://jcocina.com/boneless-honey-bbq-chicken-wings-tailgating-sundaysupper/

[12] From Fast Food to Fresh Food: http://www.fastfood2freshfood.com/2012/09/candied-pecans-sundaysupper.html

[13] Crispy Bits & Burnt Ends: http://crispybitsnburntends.com/crispy-coconut-chicken-strips-with-sweet-chili-sauce-sundaysupper/

[14] Galactosemia in PDX: http://galactopdx.blogspot.com/2012/09/swabian-mini-meatballs-for-sundaysupper.html

[15] Noshing with the Nolands: http://noshingwiththenolands.com/joe-montanas-touchdown-guacamole-its-tailgating-time-at-sundaysupper/

[16] Mama.Mommy.Mom.: http://www.mamamommymom.com/2012/09/time-to-tailgate-cheddar-cheese.html

[17] My Trials in the Kitchen: http://mytrialsinthekitchen.blogspot.com/2012/09/hot-spicy-popcorn-chicken-sundaysupper.html

[18] Family Foodie: http://familyfoodie.com/skinny-chicken-bacon-bites-tailgate-menu-sundaysupper/

[19] girlichef: http://www.girlichef.com/2012/09/SoftPretzelsSpicyBeerCheeseSauce.html

[20] The Messy Baker: http://themessybakerblog.com/2012/09/09/sundaysupper-game-day-loaded-nachos/

[21] Home Cooking Memories: http://homecookingmemories.com/buffalo-chicken-dip-tailgating-food/

[22] Supper for a Steal: http://www.supperforasteal.com/southwestern-spring-rolls-for-a-tailgate-sundaysupper/

[23] Comfy Cuisine: http://patti-comfycuisine.blogspot.com/2012/09/pepperoni-pizza-puffs-tailgaiting-for.html

[24] Daily Dish Recipes: http://dailydishrecipes.com/roasted-garlic-bacon-dip-for-tailgating-sundaysupper/

[25] Sue’s Nutrition Buzz: http://www.suesnutritionbuzz.com/2012/09/09/beer-battered-spiced-sweet-potato-fritters-sundaysupper/

[26] Soni’s Food for Thought: http://sonisfoodforthought.blogspot.com/2012/09/indian-spiced-chicken-meatballs-its.html

[27] Webicurean: http://blog.webicurean.com/2012/09/09/annes-best-potato-salad-with-bacon-and-peas-sundaysupper/

[28] Ruffles and Truffles: http://rufflesandtruffles.com/2012/09/roasted-purple-potatoes/

[29] Bobbi’s Kozy Kitchen: http://bobbiskozykitchen.blogspot.com/2012/09/spicy-bbq-baked-beans-for-sundaysupper.html

[30] Kwistin’s Favorites: http://kwistinsfavorites.wordpress.com/2012/09/09/sundaysupper-papas-potato-salad-baked-beans-tailgating/

[31] Cooking Underwriter: http://www.cookingunderwriter.com/2012/09/a-gluten-free-breakfast-sandwich-for.html

[32] La Cocina de Leslie: http://www.lacocinadeleslie.com/2012/09/pollo-adobado-con-papas-sundaysupper.html

[33] Shockingly Delicious: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/poor-mans-burrito-for-sundaysupper-tailgating/

[34] Vintage Kitchen Notes: http://www.vintagekitchennotes.blogspot.com/2012/09/ham-and-mushroom-handpies-sundaysupper.html

[35] Magnolia Days: http://magnoliadays.com/2012/individual-muffuletta-sandwiches-for-sundaysupper/

[36] Diabetic Foodie: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/09/far-east-steak-salad-for-sundaysupper/

[37] The Weekend Gourmet: http://www.wendyweekendgourmet.com/2012/09/its-tailgating-time-sundaysupper.html

[38] Momma’s Meals: http://mommasmeals.wordpress.com/2012/09/09/chicken-chili-for-sundaysupper/

[39] Sustainable Dad: http://sustainabledad.com/?p=1307

[40] Cindy’s Recipes and Writings: http://www.cindysrecipesandwritings.com/hawaiian-chicken-wraps-for-sundaysupper/

[41] Daddy Knows Less: http://daddyknowsless.blogspot.com/2012/09/tailgating-with-grandpa-sals-sausage.html

[42] I Run for Wine: http://www.irunforwine.net/2012/09/filet-mignon-chili-sundaysupper.html

[43] The Little Ferraro Kitchen: http://littleferrarokitchen.com/2012/09/homemade-italian-sausage-for-sundaysupper/

[44] Mama’s Blissful Bites: http://www.mamasblissfulbites.com/2012/09/09/sundaysupper-jalapeno-crockpot-chili/

[45] Midlife Road Trip: http://midliferoadtrip.tv/flavorful-fall-marinade-perfect-for-tailgating-sundaysupper/

[46] Mrs. Mama Hen: http://mrsmamahen.blogspot.com/2012/09/moose-chili-for-tail-gating-sundaysupper.html

[47] Chocolate Moosey: http://www.chocolatemoosey.com/2012/09/09/peanut-butter-stuffed-chocolate-cookies-for-sundaysupper/

[48] That Skinny Chick Can Bake: http://www.thatskinnychickcanbake.com/2012/09/streusel-topped-pumpkin.html

[49] In the Kitchen with Audrey: http://www.inthekitchenwithaudrey.com/2012/09/pink-zucchini-muffins-sundaysupper.html#.UEx_tI2PW38

[50] Small Wallet Big Appetite: http://www.smallwalletbigappetite.com/2012/09/oven-baked-churros.html

[51] Basic N Delicious: http://www.basicndelicious.blogspot.com/2012/09/swirl-nutella-cupcakes-for-sundaysupper.html

[52] Gotta Get Baked: http://gottagetbaked.com/2012/09/09/peanut-butter-pretzel-truffles-for-a-sundaysupper-tailgate-party/

[53] Dinners. Dishes, and Desserts: http://dinnersdishesanddesserts.com/?p=2987

[54] Damn Delicious: http://damndelicious.tumblr.com/post/31180996274/strawberry-horchata-sundaysupper

[55] Wine Everyday: http://wineeveryday.net/2012/09/09/wine-line-up-for-your-football-tailgate-table-sundaysupper/

[56] tweetchat: http://tweetchat.com/room/sundaysupper

[57] #SundaySupper Pinterest board: http://pinterest.com/thesundaysupper/sundaysupper/

[58] here they are: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/sunday-supper/

[59] Chicken, Brie and Apple Turnovers for a Tailgating #SundaySupper : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/chicken-brie-and-apple-turnovers-for-a-tailgating-sundaysupper/

[60] Avocado Hummus Dip (Vegan) for #SundaySupper : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/avocado-hummus-dip-vegan/

[61] 40 Best Recipes for Hatch Chiles You Need Right Now : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/40-best-recipes-for-hatch-chiles-you-need-right-now/

[62] Hatch, Chive & Chevre Figs for Labor Day #SundaySupper : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/hatch-chive-chevre-figs-for-labor-day-sundaysupper/

[63] Savory Cheesy Kale Tart with Chiles for #SundaySupper : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/savory-cheesy-kale-tart-with-chiles-for-sundaysupper/

[64] Honey Mustard Pretzel Crunch for Game Day #SundaySupper : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/honey-mustard-pretzel-crunch/

Copyright © 2010 Shockinglydelicious. All rights reserved.