- Shockingly Delicious - http://www.shockinglydelicious.com -

Mulled Wine for the End of the World

Posted By Dorothy Reinhold On December 21, 2012 @ 5:23 am In Drinks,Introducing new foods and ingredients | 1 Comment

Recipe: Mulled Wine

Summary: Seasonal, swanky, spicy and slightly sweet, this Mulled Wine will warm you up in front of the Christmas tree.

Ingredients

  • 1 (750-ml) bottle red wine (I used Cocobon from Trader Joe’s; $7)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons Frieda’s Mulling Spice [1]

Instructions

  1. In a saucepan, gently simmer wine, sugar (to taste) and mulling spices. If serving immediately, simmer for 10-15 minutes. If making ahead to serve later, simmer for 5 minutes, turn heat off and allow spices to steep in wine as it cools.
  2. Remove the spices and serve the wine hot in mugs garnished with a cinnamon stick, or chill and serve over ice as a cooler.

Variation

I also like to serve this not quite as-is, but add it as a splash of flavoring to a glass of plain red wine. It dilutes it and makes a pedestrian red wine more interesting!

A note on Frieda’s Mulling Spice

Frieda's Mulling Spice [2]This mixture consists of cassia, allspice berries, orange peel and cloves. Yum! It retails for about $3 at grocery stores. Frieda’s also suggests putting a bit with your coffee grounds for a nip of morning coffee cheer. How interesting is that? Frieda’s sent the Mulling Spice [1] for recipe testing.

Preparation time: 1 minute
Cooking time: 15 minutes
Diet type: Vegetarian
Number of servings (yield): 4
Culinary tradition: USA (Traditional)
My rating 5 stars:  ★★★★★ 


Article printed from Shockingly Delicious: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com

URL to article: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/mulled-wine-for-the-end-of-the-world/

URLs in this post:

[1] Frieda’s Mulling Spice: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com%20http://www.friedas.com/mulling-spice/

[2] Image: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/Friedas-Mulling-Spice.jpg

[3] Red Wine Risotto for #SundaySupper and Christmas Dinner : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/red-wine-risotto-for-sundaysupper-and-christmas-dinner/

[4] World’s Best Double Root Beer Float : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/worlds-best-double-root-beer-float/

[5] World’s Best Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/worlds-best-grilled-cheese-sandwich-recipe/

[6] World’s Best Turkey Meatballs for #SundaySupper : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/worlds-best-turkey-meatballs/

[7] World’s Best Smoky Burger : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/worlds-best-smoky-burger/

[8] Fruity Burgundy Sangria for #SundaySupper : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/fruity-burgundy-sangria/

Copyright © 2010 Shockinglydelicious. All rights reserved.