- Shockingly Delicious - http://www.shockinglydelicious.com -

Flourless Caramel Oat Cookies (Gluten-Free)

Posted By Dorothy Reinhold On May 22, 2012 @ 5:00 am In Cookies,Desserts,Gluten-Free,Vegetarian | 30 Comments

Recipe: Flourless Caramel Oat Cookies

Flourless Caramel Oat Cookies [1]Summary: A fabulous caramely, butterscotchy, oaty, chewy, gluten-free cookie. Prepare to like these better than your standard version oatmeal cookies.

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats (not quick cooking variety) Be sure to buy certified Gluten-Free oats if it is important to you
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg

Instructions

  1. Melt the butter. Place all ingredients in a medium-size bowl and mix gently by hand, or at lowest speed with an electric mixer. Mound into a ball of dough. Chill the dough 25 minutes (this is an important step) or overnight if more convenient.
  2. Meanwhile, heat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare two baking sheets by lining with parchment paper. (Parchment paper is a must, or the cookies will fuse onto the baking sheet.)
  3. Form the chilled dough into 1-inch scoops or balls (a small cookie scoop works well for this), and place on baking sheet. The cookies won’t rise, but will spread out very slightly. Bake for 13-14 minutes or until the edges are browned and the tops of the cookies are medium golden. (Both sheets may be baked at the same time; switch racks and turn sheets back to front at the halfway point.)
  4. Remove from oven and cool well on the baking sheet (about 10 minutes) before removing using a spatula. The cookies should peel off the parchment easily.
  5. Makes 2 dozen cookies.

Source

Adapted from a recipe by Marcy Goldman, a professional baker and food writer based in Montreal.

Preparation time: 8 minutes for mixing, 25 minutes for chilling
Cooking time: 14 minutes
Diet type: Vegetarian
Diet tags: Gluten free
Number of servings (yield): 12-15
Culinary tradition: USA (General)
My rating 5 stars:  ★★★★★ 


Article printed from Shockingly Delicious: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com

URL to article: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/flourless-caramel-oat-cookies-gluten-free/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/Flourless-Caramel-Oat-Cookies-2.jpg

[2] 5-ingredient Gluten-Free Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/5-ingredient-gluten-free-flourless-peanut-butter-cookies/

[3] Chocolate Chewy Brownie Cookies : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/chocolate-chewy-brownie-cookies/

[4] Easiest Almond Cookies and a Cookbook #Giveaway : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/easiest-almond-cookies-and-a-cookbook-giveaway/

[5] Scotch Tea Cookies for Mother’s Day #SundaySupper : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/scotch-tea-cookies/

[6] Cooking Class: Spiced Snickerdoodles : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/cooking-class-spiced-snickerdoodles/

[7] Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/pumpkin-chocolate-chip-cookies/

Copyright © 2010 Shockinglydelicious. All rights reserved.