- Shockingly Delicious - http://www.shockinglydelicious.com -

Flatbread with Grapes, Gruyere, Rosemary and Red Onions for #SundaySupper

Posted By Dorothy Reinhold On October 21, 2012 @ 1:00 am In Cookbooks,Pizza,SundaySupper | 61 Comments

Recipe: Flatbread with Grapes, Gruyere, Rosemary and Red Onions

Bowl of grapes on Shockingly Delicious [1]Summary: Sweet from grapes, herbaceous from rosemary, sharp from onions and salty from cheese, this flatbread hits all the right notes.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound prepared pizza dough
  • All purpose flour, for dusting
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • A wedge of red onion, sliced paper-thin
  • 1 teaspoon finely minced fresh rosemary
  • 2 cups red and purple seedless grapes, cut in half
  • 4-5 ounces shredded gruyere cheese (or use emmenthal)

Instructions

  1. Heat oven to 450F degrees.
  2. Place the dough on a floured board, and roll it out to at least a 12-inch diameter. Mine was about 12 by 14 inches, to fit my pan. Transfer to a baking sheet.Flatbread assembly process on Shockingly Delicious [2]
  3. Brush olive oil over the crust. Top with the onions, then rosemary, then grapes, then cheese.
  4. Bake for 15 minutes. Edges of the crust and the cheese will be brown. Remove from oven and transfer flatbread to a cutting board. Allow to cool for a minute, then cut into pieces.
  5. Good served warm or at room temperature.
  6. Serves 8.

Quick notes

You can buy prepared pizza dough in many grocery stores, Trader Joe’s, and other specialty shops. It’s usually in the refrigerated section, along with cheeses, prepared guacamole, prepared salads, etc. Or make your own if you wish!

Variation

I had some left over, so I reheated it the second night and ate it dolloped with olive tapenade made from black ripe California olives, using this basic recipe [3]. Dare I say it? It was EVEN BETTER!

Source

Back in the Swing cookbook cover [4]Adapted from “The Back in the Swing Cookbook,” by Barbara C. Unell and Judith Fertig (Andrews McMeel Publishing; $29.99).

Preparation time: 15 minutes
Cooking time: 15 minutes
Diet type: Vegetarian
Number of servings (yield): 8
Culinary tradition: USA (Nouveau)
My rating 5 stars:  ★★★★★ 

The #SundaySupper Team encourages every one of our followers to join us in our #BakeForACure event.

Won’t you take a couple of hours out of your busy week to bake for someone who has been affected by cancer or someone in the medical profession who makes a difference in the lives of cancer patients?  A small gesture to show someone how much you care can make a difference in their day.

Do you want to participate but wonder what to bake?  #SundaySupper has some mouthwatering suggestions.  From sweet to savory, you will be inspired.

We’d be honored to have you join us for this special #BakeForACure event Around the Family Table this week. Join us on Twitter throughout the day during #SundaySupper.  We’ll be meeting up at 4 p.m. (Pacific) for our weekly #SundaySupper  live chat where we’ll talk about our favorite comfort food recipes.

All you have to do is follow the #SundaySupper [41] hashtag or you can follow us through TweetChat [42].


Article printed from Shockingly Delicious: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com

URL to article: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/flatbread-with-grapes-gruyere-rosemary-and-red-onions-for-sundaysupper/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/IMG_2937-001.jpg

[2] Image: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/ShockD6-001.jpg

[3] this basic recipe: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/tapenade-olive-spread-appetizer/

[4] Image: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/Back-in-the-Swing-cookbook-cover.jpg

[5] Pecan Pie: http://girlinthelittleredkitchen.com/2012/10/pecan-pie-sundaysupper-bakeforthecure/

[6] Nana’s 3LB Deep Dish Apple Pie: http://www.irunforwine.net/2012/10/nanas-3-pound-deep-dish-apple-pie.html

[7] Upside-down Apple Pie: http://www.patti-comfycuisine.blogspot.com/2012/10/bakeforacure-upside-down-apple-pie.html

[8] Coconut Pie: http://www.basicndelicious.blogspot.com/2012/10/coconut-pie-bakeforacure-with-chantal.html

[9] Italian Chicken Pie : http://www.mommasmeals.org/itailian-chicken-pie-for-sundaysupper-bakeforacure/

[10] German Apple Pie: http://mrsmamahen.blogspot.com/2012/10/german-apple-pie-for-special.html

[11] Funny Cake: http://www.cindysrecipesandwritings.com/funny-cake-sundaysupper-bakeforacure-with-chantal/

[12] Sweet Potato Pie with Gingersnap Crust: http://blog.webicurean.com/2012/10/21/sweet-potato-pie-with-gingersnap-pecan-crust-sundaysupper-bakeforacure/

[13] Crustless Pumpkin Pie with Maple Whipped Cream: http://www.themeltaways.com/2012/10/21/crustless-pumpkin-pie-with-maple-whipped-cream-for-a-bakeforthecure-sundaysupper/

[14] Lemon Meringue Pie: http://themessybakerblog.com/2012/10/21/sundaysupperlemon-meringue-pie-for-bakeforacure-with-chantal/

[15] Ham and Spinach Quiche : http://magnoliadays.com/2012/ham-and-spinach-quiche-for-bakeforacure-sundaysupper/

[16] Pink Salmon Quiche : http://www.mycatholickitchen.com/2012/10/salmon-quiche-and-sundaysupper.html

[17] Pumpkin Pie with Pecan Streusel Topping: http://jcocina.com/pumpkin-pie-with-pecan-streusel-topping-bakeforthecure-sundaysupper-with-chantal/

[18] Grilled Eggplant Moussaka With Greek Yogurt White Sauce: http://www.suesnutritionbuzz.com/2012/10/21/grilled-eggplant-moussaka-with-flaxseed-bakeforacure-sundaysupper/

[19] Chocolate Chip Pecan Pie: http://www.bigbearswife.com/2012/10/chocolate-chip-pecan-pie-sundaysupper.html

[20] Pumpkin Maple Pie : http://www.mamasblissfulbites.com/2012/10/21/sundaysupper-pumpkin-maple-pie/

[21] Spiced Pumpkin Pie with a Cinnamon Roll Crust: http://dailydishrecipes.com/spiced-pumpkin-pie-with-cinnamon-roll-crust-sundaysupper-bakeforthecure/

[22] Pasteis de Nata ~ Portuguese Custard Tart: http://familyfoodie.com/pastel-de-nata-portuguese-custard-tart-sundaysupper/

[23] Chocolate Pie: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/10/chocolate-pie-for-bakeforacure-sundaysupper/

[24] Fancified Shepard’s Pie: http://crispybitsnburntends.com/bakeforacure-with-chantal-sundaysupper-fancified-shepherds-pie/

[25] Pink Lady Pie: http://www.fastfood2freshfood.com/2012/10/pink-lady-pie-bakeforacure-sundaysupper.html

[26] Butterscotch Pudding Triple Chip Cookies : http://dinnersdishesanddesserts.com/?p=3313

[27] Hazelnut Milk Chocolate Pie: http://www.vintagekitchennotes.blogspot.com/2012/10/hazelnut-milk-chocolate-pie.html

[28] Flatbread with Grapes, Gruyere, Rosemary and Red Onions: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/flatbread-with-grapes-gruyere-rosemary-and-red-onions-for-sundaysupper/

[29] Salted Caramel Filled Chocolate Chip Cookie: http://hezzi-dsbooksandcooks.blogspot.com/2012/10/salted-caramel-filled-chocolate-chip.html

[30] Candy Bar Pie: http://www.thatskinnychickcanbake.com/2012/10/candy-bar-piesundaysupper-bakeforacure.html

[31] Mini Quiches: http://www.inthekitchenwithaudrey.com/2012/10/mini-quiches-sundaysupper-bakeforacure.html#.UIPfOsXAfEw

[32] Apple Cranberry Slab Pie: http://www.generationyfoodie.com/2012/10/apple-cranberry-slab-pie.html

[33] Gratin of Potatoes, Onions & Leeks: http://anappealingplan.com/gratin-de-pommes-de-terre-aux-poireaux-gratin-of-potatoes-onions-and-leeks-sundaysupper/

[34] Garlic rosemary yeast rolls: http://gottagetbaked.com/2012/10/21/garlic-rosemary-yeast-rolls-for-sundaysupper-bakeforacure/

[35] Italian Tomato Tart: http://rufflesandtruffles.com/2012/10/italian-tomato-tart/

[36] Impossible cheeseburger pie: http://www.inthekitchenwithkp.com/recipe/impossible-cheeseburger-pie-sundaysupper-bakeforacure

[37] 10 Grain Muffins: http://buon-food.blogspot.com/2012/10/10-grain-muffins-for-sundaysupper.html

[38] Deep Dish Caramel Apple Pie: http://www.mamamommymom.com/2012/10/deep-dish-caramel-apple-pie.html

[39] Date Crumb Pie: http://www.girlichef.com/2012/10/DateCrumbPieorBars.html

[40] Gluten-Free Carrot Cake Doughnuts : http://yummysmells.blogspot.com/2012/10/gluten-free-carrot-cake-doughnuts-for.html

[41] #SundaySupper: https://twitter.com/#!/search/?q=%23SundaySupper&src=savs

[42]  TweetChat: http://tweetchat.com/room/sundaysupper

Copyright © 2010 Shockinglydelicious. All rights reserved.