- Shockingly Delicious - http://www.shockinglydelicious.com -

Crispy Smashers Recipe (aka Irish Road Kill)

Posted By Dorothy Reinhold On March 15, 2011 @ 7:00 am In Kid-Friendly,Potatoes,St. Patrick's Day | 50 Comments

Crispy Smashers (aka Irish Road Kill)

This is more a method than a strict recipe. Don’t crowd the pan – let each potato have its space to stretch out.

  • 1 to 2 medium-size red skinned potatoes for each person you are serving
  • Olive oil
  • Sea salt (or kosher salt, or seasoned salt)
  • Freshly ground pepper

Turn oven on to 425 degrees; position a rack in the middle of the oven.

Wash and dry potatoes, and with a knife, make a small slit in the top of each (so they won’t explode with cooking).  Place them on a paper plate, and microwave on high, about 7 minutes per pound. They will be soft.

Meanwhile, lightly film a low-sided baking sheet or baking pan with oil. (Recommendation: use the bottom of the utilitarian metal broiler pan that came with your oven, as long as it is big enough to fit all your potatoes.)

Remove potatoes from microwave oven and arrange them in the baking pan, with a couple of inches to spare between each potato (enough space for potato to spread out). One by one, squish each potato flat, to about 1/2 inch thick. I do this by placing the same paper plate on each potato, one at a time, and pushing hard with the heel of my hand; then discard the plate when all are squished flat. Or use a potato masher and push down hard once on each potato. The skin will break and the soft potato will spread out yet will remain one piece.

Drizzle olive oil on each potato (2-3 teaspoons per potato, depending on how heavy your hand is) and sprinkle each with a pinch of salt and a grinding of fresh pepper.

Bake about 30 minutes, until they are browned and crispy.

Remove from oven and serve.

Make ahead note: Although it is unlikely you will have leftovers (no one can seem to leave any remaining in the pan), you can make these a day ahead of time. Simply reheat in the microwave or the oven. They won’t be as crispy the second day, but they will be just as delicious.

Variation idea

A Shockingly Delicious fan in Malibu, Calif. (hello Anne!) reports making these into “smashed potato skinish things” by adding bacon and green onions and cheese. Sounds like dinner to me!


Article printed from Shockingly Delicious: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com

URL to article: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/crispy-smashers-recipe-aka-irish-road-kill/

URLs in this post:

[1] Baked Accordion Potatoes Recipe : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/baked-accordion-potato-recipe/

[2] Best Ever Oven Parmesan Fries Recipe : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/best-ever-oven-parmesan-fries-recipe/

[3] Grilled Potato Salad Recipe : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/grilled-potato-salad/

[4] Fungi Fever: Rustic Truffled Mashed Potatoes Recipe : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/fungi-fever-rustic-truffled-mashed-potatoes-recipe/

[5] Salted Brown Butter Crispy Treats Recipe : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/salted-brown-butter-crispy-treats-recipe/

[6] Weeknight Potatoes — So Easy You Won’t Need a Recipe : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/weeknight-potatoes-so-easy-you-wont-need-a-recipe/

Copyright © 2010 Shockinglydelicious. All rights reserved.