- Shockingly Delicious - http://www.shockinglydelicious.com -

Cooking Class: Slow Cooker Chickpeas for #SundaySupper

Posted By Dorothy Reinhold On January 5, 2014 @ 1:29 am In Beans and Legumes,Cooking Class,Slow Cooker,SundaySupper,Vegan,Vegetarian | 32 Comments

Recipe: Slow Cooker Chickpeas

Ingredients

  • 1 pound dried chickpeas
  • 6 cups water (or you could use low-salt chicken broth or chicken stock)
  • 1 teaspoon salt (optional)

Instructions

  1. Rinse, drain and pick over the chickpeas to remove any bits of dirt and debris. Place chickpeas and water in slow cooker. Cover and cook on HIGH for 6 hours, or until the chickpeas are tender when cut or mashed. Add salt to taste. Drain and use as desired.
  2. Refrigerate cooked chickpeas if not used right away. You may also freeze them for longer storage.

Sunday Supper

See this page [1] for all the wonderful #SundaySupper dishes I have made since I joined this group, and links to all the other delicious dishes made by my fellow cooks.

How to deploy cooked chickpeas

Raw Kale Salad with Chickpeas and Salmon in Orange Dressing [2]
Perfect Homemade Hummus [3]
Hummus with Caramelized Onions and Portobello Mushrooms [4]
Chickpea Curry
Lemony Garbanzo Kale Salad with Tuna [5]
Kaleapalooza Salad [6]
Vegetarian Chickpea, Carrot, Cilantro, Curry Patty [7]
10-Minute Chickpea Salad with Feta and Basil [8]
Sweet Tomato, Chickpea and Fresh Rosemary Soup [9]

Preparation time: 5 minutes
Cooking time: 6 hours
Diet type: Vegan
Diet tags: High protein
Number of servings (yield): 8
Culinary tradition: USA (General)

Slow Cooker Chickpeas | www.ShockinglyDelicious.com [10]

Sunday Supper badge [11]Our Sunday Supper slow cooker recipes

This week our #SundaySupper blogger crew is all about slowly bringing in the New Year with slow cooker recipes, hosted by Cindy of Cindy’s Recipes and Writings [12]. Check out the variety of things we have cooked up for you! Try these Slow Cooker Chickpeas or find something else from the menu below that rings your chimes:

Whet Your Appetite

Simmering Soups, Stews, and Side Dishes

Main Courses

Join us around the family table for #SundaySupper 

TwitterBird on SundaySupper [40]

  • Twitter how-to: Follow the #SundaySupper hashtag throughout the day on Twitter to see our recipes. To join the conversation anytime, simply use the #SundaySupper hashtag to share your favorite tips and recipes.
  • Pinterest: Check out our #SundaySupper Pinterest board [41] for more recipes and photos.
  • Join: To join the Sunday Supper Movement, sign up by clicking here → Sunday Supper Movement [42].

Article printed from Shockingly Delicious: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com

URL to article: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/cooking-class-slow-cooker-chickpeas-for-sundaysupper/

URLs in this post:

[1] this page: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/sunday-supper/

[2] Raw Kale Salad with Chickpeas and Salmon in Orange Dressing: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/raw-kale-salad-with-chickpeas-and-salmon-in-orange-dressing-for-skinny-sundaysupper/

[3] Perfect Homemade Hummus: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/perfect-homemade-hummus-and-the-vinovinti/

[4] Hummus with Caramelized Onions and Portobello Mushrooms: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/hummus-with-caramelized-onions-and-portobello-mushrooms/

[5] Lemony Garbanzo Kale Salad with Tuna: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/lemony-garbanzo-kale-salad-with-tuna-for-sundaysupper/

[6] Kaleapalooza Salad: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/kale-a-palooza-salad/

[7] Vegetarian Chickpea, Carrot, Cilantro, Curry Patty: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/vegetarian-chickpea-carrot-cilantro-curry-patty-secret-recipe-club/

[8] 10-Minute Chickpea Salad with Feta and Basil: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/ten-minute-chickpea-salad-with-feta-and-basil-from-herbivoracious/

[9] Sweet Tomato, Chickpea and Fresh Rosemary Soup: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/sweet-tomato-chickpea-and-fresh-rosemary-soup-for-weekdaysupper/

[10] Image: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/IMG_1335-1.jpg

[11] Image: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/Sunday-Supper-badge.png

[12] Cindy’s Recipes and Writings: http://www.cindysrecipesandwritings.com/

[13] Whiskey Bacon Onion Jam: http://girlinthelittleredkitchen.com/2014/01/whiskey-bacon-onion-jam-sundaysupper/

[14] Orange-Fig Jam: http://www.girlichef.com/2014/01/OrangeFigJam.html

[15] Chicken and Wild Rice Soup: http://www.peanutbutterandpeppers.com/2014/01/05/chicken-and-wild-rice-soup-in-crockpot-sundaysupper/

[16] Low-Carb Chunky Beefy Vegetable Soup: http://yoursandmineareours.com/low-carb-slow-cooker-chunky-beefy-vegetable-soup/

[17] Beef, Wine and Mushroom Soup: http://noshingwiththenolands.com/beef-wine-mushroom-soup-sundaysupper/

[18] Slow Cooker Chicken Parmesan Soup: http://foxeslovelemons.com/2014/01/slow-cooker-chicken-parmesan-soup-sundaysupper.html

[19] Beef Stew: http://thefoodiearmywife.com/crockpot-beef-stew/

[20] Pot Roast and Portabello Stew: http://www.kudoskitchenbyrenee.com/2014/01/PotRoastAndPortabelloStew.html

[21] Slow Cooker Black Bean and Polenta Stew: http://www.mamasblissfulbites.com/2014/01/05/slow-cooker-black-bean-polenta-sundaysupper/

[22] Turkey Stew: http://magnoliadays.com/2014/turkey-stew/

[23] San Antonio Chunky Chicken Stew: http://www.wendyweekendgourmet.com/2014/01/slowly-bringing-in-new-year-with.html

[24] Pumpkin, Chickpea & Lentil Stew: http://www.takeabiteoutofboca.com/2014/01/pumpkin-chickpea-and-lentil-stew-for.html

[25] Slow Cooker Chickpeas: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/cooking-class-slow-cooker-chickpeas-for-sundaysupper/

[26] Football Sunday Teriyaki Pulled Pork: http://familyfoodie.com/football-sunday-teriyaki-pulled-pork-sundaysupper/

[27] Slow Cooker Apricot Jalapeno Pork Chops: http://mommasangelbaby.com/slowly-bringing-in-the-new-year-slow-cooker-apricot-jalapeno-pork-chops-sundaysupper/

[28] Vegan Slow Cooker Hoppin’ John: http://www.killerbunniesinc.com/2014/01/vegan-slow-cooker-hoppin-john-recipe-sundaysupper/

[29] Slow Cooker Coffee Glazed Brisket: http://www.thatskinnychickcanbake.com/2014/01/slow-cooker-coffee-glazed-brisket-sundaysupper.html

[30] Chipotle Honey BBQ Ribs: http://akitchenhoor.blogspot.com/2014/01/chipotle-honey-bbq-ribs-for-slow-cooked.html

[31] Crockpot Country Style Pork Ribs: http://highlandsranchfoodie.com/2014/01/crockpot-country-style-pork-ribs/#.UslMjPRDuSo

[32] Slow Cooker Jerk Pork: http://www.curiouscuisiniere.com/jerk-pork-slow-cooker/

[33] Slow Cooker Beef Daube Provencal: http://www.mommasmeals.org/slow-cooking-with-beef-for-sundaysupper/

[34] Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore: http://www.dinner-mom.com/crock-pot-chicken-cacciatore/

[35] Chicken and Broccoli: http://www.cindysrecipesandwritings.com/chicken-and-broccoli-slow-cooked-for-sundaysupper/

[36] Tacos de Lengua: http://www.texannewyorker.com/2014/01/05/tacos-de-lengua/

[37] Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken & Black Beans for Tacos: http://cupcakesandkalechips.com/2014/01/05/slow-cooker-salsa-chicken-black-beans-tacos/

[38] Chinese Chicken: http://ninjabaking.com/chinese-chicken-slow-cooker-sundaysupper

[39] Slow Cooker Beef Brisket French Dip Sandwiches: http://www.neighborfoodblog.com/2014/01/slow-cooker-beef-brisket-french-dip-sandwiches-sundaysupper.html

[40] Image: http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/TwitterBird-on-laptop-1.jpg

[41] #SundaySupper Pinterest board: http://pinterest.com/thesundaysupper/sundaysupper/

[42] Sunday Supper Movement: http://www.familyfoodie.com/forums/

[43] Caramelized Garlic in the Crock-Pot for #SundaySupper : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/caramelized-garlic-in-the-crock-pot-for-sundaysupper/

[44] Cooking Class: How to Make Ham Stock in the Slow Cooker : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/cooking-class-how-to-make-ham-stock-in-the-slow-cooker/

[45] Slow Cooker Hawaiian Kalua Pork for #SundaySupper : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/slow-cooker-hawaiian-kalua-pork-for-sundaysupper/

[46] Lacquered Short Ribs in the Slow Cooker – Man Food for #SundaySupper : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/lacquered-short-ribs-in-the-slow-cooker/

[47] Slow Cooker Apple Butter for #SundaySupper Gifts from the Kitchen : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/slow-cooker-apple-butter/

[48] Avocado Hummus Dip (Vegan) for #SundaySupper : http://www.shockinglydelicious.com/avocado-hummus-dip-vegan/

Copyright © 2010 Shockinglydelicious. All rights reserved.